Step 1: Swing. Step 2: Fall. Step 3: Repeat.

Posted: February 24, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

"VAL! VAL! I DID IT! TAKE A PICTURE! QUICK!" So, I’m fairly certain I told you I would write about sports sometimes. Now is one of those times. Monday, you see, I went rock climbing with some friends, and one of those friends (love you Val!) brought her camera, which was incredibly timed. Why, asks you? Because she managed to get a picture of me making a move that I tried and failed to do no less than 20 times. Now, to be fair, for anyone who has been climbing for any length of time or for anyone who is tall, the move isn’t particularly hard. But I am neither skilled nor tall and GOD HOW I STRUGGLED.  To your left, I present my accomplishment.

(Warning: the majority of “feelings” felt by myself (and V, too. Yeah, I’m outing you to the world.) are sports related. So the next paragraph is all, well, feelings-y.)

Fact is, the first time I tried to make the hold, I thought “Wow, there is NO WAY I can make that”.  To be honest, I continued to think that through the first 10-12 failures.  If I could give you a reason as to why I bothered to keep trying, I’d be guessing. I’d been watching some videos of the pros, and maybe their persistence rubbed off on me.  Maybe I’m just a stubborn bitch (most likely reason), But after 10-12 epic failures, I started to fail less hard. A few more failures and I started to feel like it might even actually be possible.  A couple more hits to the tail bone later and all of a sudden, I nailed it.  I didn’t do it again that night, and it took forever to do it just that once, but god damn if it didn’t teach me something about just keeping at something.  It’s a small accomplishment in the grand scheme of things, but I find myself applying that persistence to other areas of my life, and it’s really paying off.

So, moral of the story: climbing is awesome, and I am awesome.  That is all.

C, out!

Drop a Line!

