St. Patrick’s Day & MORE baking!

Posted: March 17, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

My fam’s out of town this weekend, so they requested a repeat of last week’s oatmeal & peanut butter chocolate chip cookies for the road; once again, the entire house smells like peanut butter, and I’m thisclose to licking the walls.

As far as St.Pat’s is concerned, it’s finally on an acceptable day of the week, and to top it off, there’s no OCVL tonight due to March Break! My team is going out to Barrymore’s instead to celebrate, and I’m bringing dessert! Listen, I procrastinate by cooking and baking. I accidentally ended up making FIVE DOZEN mini chocolate cupcakes. Five. Dozen. Now I have to get rid of them somehow.

Haaaa, look at my “artsy” photography.

One-Bowl Chocolate Cupcakes (from Martha Stewart):

3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon salt
2 large eggs
3/4 cup warm water
3/4 cup buttermilk*
3 tablespoons canola oil
<– This is the only fat in the whole recipe!
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

*I squeezed a tablespoon of lemon juice into 3/4 of a cup of milk and let it sit for approximately 5 minutes instead.

Instructions:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and take out a substantially-sized mixing bowl. Sift in the dry ingredients, then add everything else; mix well. The batter will be runnier than you’re inclined to enjoy, but don’t worry! It’s supposed to be like that.

Pour into muffin cups, filling about halfway. I tossed a few chocolate chips on top of each cupcake just to have a little surprise beneath the icing. Bake for 15 minutes if you’re using little muffin cups like I did, or closer to 20 minutes if you’re using a standard size cup.

Remove from the tin and let cool before frosting them (recipe below). I packed all mine into an airtight container and left them overnight before frosting, and they tasted just as good! For the record, this recipe, as written, made 60 adorable baby cupcakes, and the icing recipe covered all of them, with some to spare.

Mint Buttercream Icing

1 1/2 c. unsalted butter, room temperature
500g icing sugar
Pinch of salt
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp peppermint extract
4-5 tbsp heavy cream

Instructions:
Beat butter until fluffy, then slowly begin incorporating the sugar. Make sure you’re not wearing black for this, like I was. When the mixture is nice and homogenous, add the salt, extracts and 2 tbsp of the heavy cream. Mix on high, adding more cream until you achieve the desired texture. Load up a pastry bag (read: large Ziploc) and git ‘er done!

**

So, this was my first time actually piping icing, so the results are very…homey. I think the slight variance from cupcake to cupcake lends them some charm, but that’s mostly because I am stupidly proud of these little guys. The amount of icing was perfect for me, because it added a little minty touch without being overwhelming. The cupcakes themselves were light and spongy, so the entire experience didn’t leave me feeling like I had eaten a giant brick of lard. This recipe is definitely going in the AWESOME section of my personal cookbook. What up.

Now I’m off to feed the masses and get my dance on…

Sláinte!
-V

Comments
  1. Eleni says:

    I’m pretty sure handing out five dozen cupcakes with green icing on St. Patty’s Day was not a challenge for you.

    Then again, I tried to hand out brownies and a good 3/4 of the girls I attempted to feed were hell bent on being ‘good’.

    You know what else is good? Chocolate.

    • I definitely brought in the rest of the cupcakes to my 8:30 seminar this morning, and apparently, they’re great hangover food!

      Those girls need to get over themselves; brownies are pretty much the best thing ever. Fact.

Drop a Line!

